top of page

A quick note to Instagram "photographers"

As a photographer, I use a camera. Stating the obvious? Not anymore. The meaning of the word "photographer" has drastically changed those last years. First it was digital vs. film, now it seems it's camera vs. mobile phone.

Going from film to digital hasn't really changed the meaning of the main terms. But this mobile phone business did. Unless those who think they are photographers because they own a mobile phone are too dumb to know the meaning of words they use on a daily basis on this dear Instagram...

Despite having an IG account, I must admit I really hate it. Like any social media, it's nothing but a waste of time and a necessary evil. It's way worse than Facebook, in my opinion.

One of the worst things regarding that bot-eat-brain website is the way people use words they have no clue about. It's a bit like those "cooks" on Hell's Kitchen who use Italian or French words while they clearly don't know what the f*ck they talk about ("I put a little bit of cacio e pepe and then I added a sauce..."). Pathetic.

It's the very same on IG with photography. Among all the distorted terms I see there (depth of field, bokeh, negative space...), the one the most trashed must be "macro". So just because, here's how Wiki puts it:


"Macro photography is extreme close-up photography, usually of very small subjects and living organisms like insects, in which the size of the subject in the photograph is greater than life size. By the original definition, a macro photograph is one in which the size of the subject on the negative or image sensor is life size or greater. In some senses, however, it refers to a finished photograph of a subject that is greater than life size."


And for those photographers with mobile phones, here's the best part:


""Macro" lenses specifically designed for close-up work, with a long barrel for close focusing and optimized for high reproduction ratios, are one of the most common tools for macro photography. Most modern macro lenses can focus continuously to infinity as well and can provide excellent optical quality for normal photography. True macro lenses, such as the Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro or Minolta AF 3x-1x 1.7-2.8 Macro, can achieve higher magnification than life size, enabling photography of the structure of small insect eyes, snowflakes, and other minuscule objects. Others, such as the Infinity Photo-Optical's TS-160 can achieve magnifications from 0-18x on sensor, focusing from infinity down to 18 mm from the object.

Macro lenses of different focal lengths find different uses:

  • Continuously-variable focal length – suitable for virtually all macro subjects

  • 45–65 mm – product photography, small objects that can be approached closely without causing undesirable influence, and scenes requiring natural background perspective

  • 90–105 mm – insects, flowers, and small objects from a comfortable distance

  • 150–200 mm – insects and other small animals where additional working distance is required

Extending the distance between the lens and the film or sensor, by inserting either extension tubes or a continuously adjustable bellows, is another equipment option for macro photography. The further the lens is from the film or sensor, the closer the focusing distance, the greater the magnification, and the darker the image given the same aperture."


I don't want to ruin anyone's fun. I just think a bit of modesty and knowledge wouldn't hurt. Also, I can't stand people using words in the wrong way, above all when it's all about bragging.

Recent Posts

See All

I am

I'm the steel I'm the marble I'm the blue And the ice...

Closure (Second letter to K.)

I had sworn to myself I would never do that. I had thought about it for so long. I knew it would be the wrong thing to do. I thought I...

The grim counting is on

I've been on and off social media for several years now. First, because I'm not social whatsoever, even through a computer. Secondly,...

bottom of page