top of page

Closure (Second letter to K.)

I had sworn to myself I would never do that. I had thought about it for so long. I knew it would be the wrong thing to do. I thought I was grown up enough, I thought life would have taught me enough. And I so wanted to keep the illusion that perfection could be. I wanted to keep thinking that what could have been would have been perfect.


I knew it would be the wrong thing. I had sworn. But I'm myself. If I've learnt anything from my 50 years on Earth, it's to be bold. To dare. I don't have many regrets, but the ones I have are massive. Huge rocks fallen on the road.


So maybe after all it was time and I just felt it. Got an opportunity of blowing one rock up. And I did it. I was pretty sure no one was there anyway. It was a reassuring thought that I would limit any possible damage. And I was wrong. Somehow you were there. And a few words caught me unprepared. Even if I had handled this scenario a million times in my head. I would never have imagined the line between my dreams and reality could be so thin.


There has been a few days and nights of fever. An obsession so full of life and energy that I felt dizzy. People would talk to me and I wouldn't hear a word. I was cloud connected to the point that my feet were not touching the ground anymore...

And then you gave me what I needed. Out of the blue _ probably the navy blue I used to identify you with.

Closure.

I don't feel like translating this term into French. The whole concept is perfectly wrapped in those few letters... No, it will definitely have to stay "as is", even if it means I now have to write to you in English.

Closure.

This is something I had not expected or imagined. You closed the book. But it didn't hurt. How strange... Somehow, you opened the cage in which my heart was trapped. Gave me closure.


I haven't dreamt of you since. Maybe I will never again. I feel at peace. I don't think I will thank you in any other way than through this letter.

But I thank you anyway. This is the end I couldn't have found myself. It won't be one more sour regret, not another ghost. It is just a story with an end perfectly fitting.


I will keep listening to "Stay Together" and "Love is Blindness" whenever I need to live again those moments about you, only you... Wrapping the night around me. But I know now it will be behind me for good.

The cold in November will never feel the same either... Nor the darkness of a Saturday evening in winter.


For several years now I've been listening to another song that leads me to you inevitably: "When Our Day Is Through" by Quorthon. I don't know why. Maybe because it's all there and it sounds like this unthinkable moment when the sun comes out at the end of a stormy day. Makes the wet pavement shine and washes off the sky...

It's just all there.


I'm glad I did what I should not have done. As deep inside I needed closure more than anything else, my Dark Star...




Recent Posts

See All

I am

I'm the steel I'm the marble I'm the blue And the ice...

The grim counting is on

I've been on and off social media for several years now. First, because I'm not social whatsoever, even through a computer. Secondly,...

Becoming KL: a short happy review

I've recently watched the TV mini series "Becoming Karl Lagerfeld. I really liked it. I had read Karl Lagerfeld's Wiki page at least a...

bottom of page