top of page

Becoming KL: a short happy review

I've recently watched the TV mini series "Becoming Karl Lagerfeld. I really liked it. I had read Karl Lagerfeld's Wiki page at least a couple of times along the years but I had forgotten most of it. That's maybe why I wasn't quite expecting that.

Lately it's been a struggle to find a good show. Most of them are really stupid and/or gore. There's no story, no characters, no acting... I just wonder where they get the money to make such "nullités".

"Becoming KL" has a story indeed (it's a happy mix of biography and drama fiction) but above all, it has characters. I got attached to them from the start. The acting is outstanding (Daniel Brühl is brilliant in the lead role; Théodore Pellerin, Alex Lutz and Agnès Jaoui are quite good too). To me, the main thing is to try and find the reasons behind the decisions and the global behaviours of each and every person. Why would he/she do that? The more you see clearly the esquisse, the more you can connect the dots and get into the psychologic aspects, hence the interest. Here the story telling is classic, easy to follow, without unnecessary flashbacks. Very pleasant and captivating, above all in those days of madness and shallowness.


The fashion industry is not my cup of tea. It's a bit of a caricature to say this but I would still dare to sum it up this way: a bunch of older men paying emaciated (or, nowadays, obese) models to wear weird clothes that noone would wear in real life. I don't deny that some of them have imagination and talent, but it's just washed out by the whole drama about the shows and their aftermaths. Also, beauty and elegance are more and more left out of the picture which will always be a nonsense I can't handle.

Except a few strange choices regarding the soundtrack (the cover of A-Ha "Take on Me" is absolutely dreadful), I can't really fault this show. And I do hope there will be another season, with the same strong cast!

Recent Posts

See All

I am

I'm the steel I'm the marble I'm the blue And the ice...

Closure (Second letter to K.)

I had sworn to myself I would never do that. I had thought about it for so long. I knew it would be the wrong thing to do. I thought I...

The grim counting is on

I've been on and off social media for several years now. First, because I'm not social whatsoever, even through a computer. Secondly,...

bottom of page