top of page

Better with (George, Liam, the Pope and the Queen)


Reminder: In 1996, in a conversation with Independent Radio News, George Harrison said that Oasis would be better without the lead singer Liam Gallagher.


I"m still shocked by what George Harrison said about Liam. What did he mean "better without"? I don't want to contradict as The Beatles, Scottish landscapes and giant green peas are the the very reasons why we love the Big Island (which, one must admit, is a mega pain in the ass most of the time). So I would really like to leave it as it is, but here it feels a bit like a "Pope-in-Italy-case", which is extremely weird. I mean in Italy we have the Pope, he's there, that's the way it is, and it's probably good for some things. We listen to him politely but you know that behind his back, Italy will always be Italy... Still, we will never throw him away, because without him there would be a void and somehow we might get sad as a nation, though technically he's not really part of our nation as he's got his private gardens with his private Swiss dummies and also now that they play the politically correct roulette (formerly known as Russian roulette, but now it's a big no-no so let's not put les pieds dans le plat on a detail, that would be silly) and that one time out of two or three (it's hard to keep track as I don't go to church that often, mainly because the hours are inconvenient) they pick foreigners... it's becoming even more blurry. Last time I checked it was a German I think. But still, Italy's got the Pope (even if) and the Big Island, they have the Beatles. So, I really don't want to sound disrespectful, but I smell a wrong there. Also it pisses me off that I have to disagree as Harrison has always been my favorite Beatle. I wonder what Kate Middleton thinks about that. I've always had (sort of) a crush on her and I will vote for her to be the next Queen once the UK has bought the EU. She's the cutest mouse in the kingdom and I would feed her Parmigiano Reggiano any day. Indeed, I miss the Queen-Queen's hat extravaganza, just like you all, but not everything is lost.

So to conclude, in my humble opinion, I think we should all forget about this "better without" because it's a very sensitive topic and we should leave "les petites phrases" to the French, 'cause Goddamnit (it's a dictionary phrase, it has nothing to do with my beliefs) they're really good at it, above all now that they've got this new master of the genre, Sandrine Rousseau. God (just a random word, nothing to do with my beliefs... Next time I will write "Cake", it will be more accurate), she's fantastic. I'm gonna stop now cause it's getting late and I need to go out in the sun because you know, vitamin D blablabla... Also I need to put more water on the tomatoes. Ya, they're doing good. Thanks for asking.

Recent Posts

See All

I am

I'm the steel I'm the marble I'm the blue And the ice...

Closure (Second letter to K.)

I had sworn to myself I would never do that. I had thought about it for so long. I knew it would be the wrong thing to do. I thought I...

The grim counting is on

I've been on and off social media for several years now. First, because I'm not social whatsoever, even through a computer. Secondly,...

bottom of page