top of page

Flags (the lost hope of lowering gender contrasts)

I like to try and analyse the trends we are constantly put through. I'm not into this "woke" thing at all. Most of it makes no sense to me. I'm not American after all.

However, I was quite interested in "the gender chapter". I never identify myself as a girl, female, X, whatever... It doesn't suit my personality, my character, my everything. I'm not that. As a child, I decapitated all the dolls I was offered. I always refused to wear skirts. I've never got along with girls that much. Talking make-up and clothes and the next boy has never been my thing and will never be (later on they turn to diets, kids and cats, but I don't do that either...) I don't have girly ways, and to put it simply, I hate being in this female body. It's not me. It only brings health problems and I'm quite sure it will be my end. I hate it. I once admitted to a doctor that indeed I'd rather be a boy and added: "For obvious reasons. It's just common sense." He looked at me and sighed. Ya... who would like to be a loser when you could be a winner? Not me! There's nothing wrong in my thinking there and I know it. Could anyone honestly give me ONE advantage of being female, socially and biologically? No. Because there's none.

So, this LGBT and then non-binary, queergender and even asexual rising movement was something I had been waited basically all my life. At last I could see a bunch of other people having the same problem as me: they don't want their whole life to depend on a bloody X or Y chromosome that they could not choose. Because that's what it is all about. From your very first breath, you will take it in your face, like it's the only thing that fucking matters: that's a girl, that's a boy, alea jacta est!

And then a few years later, you will be defined by that and the collateral damage, i.e.: "Are you into men or women?". If you've never thought about it, try and imagine what your life would have been if you had been into "the other gender category"? From your very first minutes on this planet, it would have been different. The whole construction, i.e. your life, would have been totally different.

So I had hoped that the emerging "non-binary, etc. concept" would help in having finally the right to say "I'm neutral". I want you to see me as neutral. And I don't want you to wonder if I f*ck men or women, because this should not matter whatsoever. I'm not an animal, I don't care about sex and we won't talk about that anyway.

I had hoped a certain open-mindedness would emerge and would finally lower the sacrosanct male/female contrast.


Instead, what do I see now? The contrary! It's all emphasized. There's nothing more important now than to scream "I'm a woman" or "I belong to the men club".

You have to mention it in all sentences. You have to show it in every piece of cloth you wear. In every fucking artwork you put on your wall ("it's by a female artist"... ok, doesn't matter it's ugly?). You have to choose your side constantly. And claim it as loud as you can. To me, that's the "flag way", having to push contrasts to the utmost all the time. Not only gender, any little feature of yourself. I also call it the American way, as it seems to me, they really love their flags on the other side of the pond...

You're a woman? Flag it up!

You're black? Flag it up!

You have mental issues, skin conditions, rare diseases? Flag it up!

You eat only vegetables or only nuts? Flag it up!

Etc, etc, etc.

Never go anywhere without your flags...

Or you will vanish in the void.








Recent Posts

See All

I am

I'm the steel I'm the marble I'm the blue And the ice...

Closure (Second letter to K.)

I had sworn to myself I would never do that. I had thought about it for so long. I knew it would be the wrong thing to do. I thought I...

The grim counting is on

I've been on and off social media for several years now. First, because I'm not social whatsoever, even through a computer. Secondly,...

bottom of page