top of page

Letter to my tea mate


You come with the life I've always wanted. You make the life I've always wanted.

It's quiet and sunny. It's teatime in the garden during a summer afternoon. There is an almond cake you've just made. A bowl of fresh fruits from the trees we planted there: abricots, lemons and figs... We chose the fine china and the linen table cloth together. The linden trees wrap us in their soothing fragrance.


We will talk about what's next. What to grow, what to pick, what to cook, the show we'll watch at night... A beautiful season will follow another beautiful season. Time won't be hard on us.

Everything will be safe. If some doubt from the dark days surfaces, I will ask the same question many times. But you won't get mad at me. You will comfort me with a handful of words. The right words. The precious words.

You will fix the problems. You will fix my problems. And I will fix yours. And I will fix ours.

You will think ahead with me. Cause that's what I do. And that's the way you are too. Farsighted.

Life won't take us with our guard down ever. There won't be starvation. There won't be a thirsty day. Not a cold night without a warm house to take shelter in. You will make sure this will never happen again...


It's just some tea and a cake, some beautiful fruits... A summer afternoon. So many butterflies and birds around. A long-awaited peacefulness carried by the gentle breeze. The golden light and a myriad of colorful flowers. And our smiles.

This is a moment with you, my dear tea mate.

And I can feel alive.


Recent Posts

See All

I am

I'm the steel I'm the marble I'm the blue And the ice...

Closure (Second letter to K.)

I had sworn to myself I would never do that. I had thought about it for so long. I knew it would be the wrong thing to do. I thought I...

The grim counting is on

I've been on and off social media for several years now. First, because I'm not social whatsoever, even through a computer. Secondly,...

bottom of page