top of page

Marcus vs. Hugh

A few days ago we started watching the 10-part television series "Marcus Wareing's Tales from a Kitchen Garden", that aired on BBC Two in 2022. I always watch cooking or antiques shows during my meals. On paper it's not good, I should focus on the food, but it's too captivating for my brain, so I'd rather have some type of distraction.

Also, I hate jaw noises with a passion. Not that I'm particularly loud when eating, but the slightest "eating noise" makes me think of cows and I don't like to picture myself as a cow. I love cows, I just don't want to be part of the family. So show on please.

I've always liked Marcus Wareing. His latest rhubarb tart with pistachio frangipane recipe is amazing. I also appreciate the way he behaves in Masterchef UK. He says things to people that are not always pleasant to hear but he's never disrespectful, which is always the right way when you try to teach people whatever. I admire his social skills (I can't explain anything to someone twice without raising my voice so... yepp, I admire social skills).


I was logically expecting something still in the same line of cooking as he's got us used to. Down-to-earth but refined, with lots of recipes and technical tips. The show is not anything near what I thought it would be. I must admit I got baffled and worried by several of his comments. I totally understand his step towards a new horizon. He's 5 years older than me, we dealt with the Covid weirdness, it's time to put the cards on the table and see where we stand exactly. Many of my acquaintances do exactly this when hitting the 45-50 mark. A change of direction, somehow, for the better.


A quiet and fertile smallholding sounds like heaven on Earth (that's actually what I've been working on for 7 years now).

And what a smallholding Mr Wareing has!! With an orchard, a huge super-well maintained vegetable patch and a bunch of skilled neighbours. Thus we're talking a deluxe++ "small"holding with plenty of help, in Southern England.

He goes from there, many things established and running, and start adding bonuses: pigs, hens, mushrooms... He visits farmers and producers ("the best" ones), get tips from them... That's about it. Last but not least, at the end of each episode we get one recipe/cooking lesson by the Master himself, in his summer kitchen outdoors, with shiny brand new ustensils.


Being a (huge) fan of Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, I can't help but see this show as a very pale, uninspired, copy of "Escape to River Cottage" (1999, Channel 4). It's rather shallow and over polished. It lacks the tenacity, the effort, the sincerity. Would I dare to say the word? It's bland!

So far we've watched three episodes. I'm not willing to see more for now. Might come, might not...

I hope to see Marcus again on Masterchef: The Professionals. For me, that's where he definitely belongs, at least show-wise.

Recent Posts

See All

I am

I'm the steel I'm the marble I'm the blue And the ice...

Closure (Second letter to K.)

I had sworn to myself I would never do that. I had thought about it for so long. I knew it would be the wrong thing to do. I thought I...

The grim counting is on

I've been on and off social media for several years now. First, because I'm not social whatsoever, even through a computer. Secondly,...

bottom of page